Wisdom Wednesday

Be Yourself

Wisdom Wednesday 

Be Yourself!

BeYourself

Yesterday I told you my story about deciding to shoot 75% with natural light and why.  It was one of the first steps I took towards being ME in my business.  I hope it encouraged you to see that you do not have to compete with anybody but yourself.  If you want to be better just be a better YOU.

Here’s another story for you.

I LOVE cookies and icecream.  

I mean LOVE.  Don’t get me wrong I’m a total chemical free whole foods guru, so although they are organic gluten free cookies and natural icecream I still LOVE my cookies and icecream.  So naturally what do my boys love?  Cookies and icecream.  Since my youngest was a baby I have been a huge fan of  The Feingold Diet.  A chemical free way of living that believes children should not be deprived of all sugar because sugar is actually a natural product.

Well, A few years ago I had this brilliant plan to eliminate sugar from my house.  I thought my children and I ate way too much sugar and should go “OFF” sugar.  As always my kitchen was filled with fruits and vegetables and healthy snacks and scrumptious meals, just no cookies and icecream.  No sugar of anykind.  Yet every single one of my three boys came home and after scouring the kitchen, cupboards, pantry, and frig said:

“Mom there’s nothing to eat.”

“Mom why isn’t there anything to eat?”

“Mom, are you going to the store?  There’s no food in the house.”

Seriously!  Of course there was food in the house!  There was all kinds of food in the house. However, there were NO:

Cookies & Icecream

A common staple during every shopping trip I made and always in the house and listed under the Knowles Family Food Pyramid as a healthy food, are cookies and icecream.  I’m a baker at heart.  If I don’t buy cookies I bake them.  All three boys could bake a batch of cookies on their own by twelve years old.  A favorite family hobby is frequenting the local icecream shops and bakeries wherever we may be.  It’s a passion of ours.  For good or bad we love cookies and icecream.

When I decided to break from being ME, complete and utter chaos broke out.  It wasn’t me. It wasn’t them.  It wasn’t US.  We like cookies and icecream.  We are not going to die tomorrow by eating cookies and icecream.  We love fruits and vegetables but our thing is cookies and icecream.

That day has gone down in history as the day mom made us go sugar free for 24 hours. Actually it wasn’t even 24 hours because I went to the store the next day to fill up on cookies and icecream.  Even close family members that know us have laughed about it.

So what I am trying to say here is that if you are not YOU, the real YOU, Chaos is about to irrupt somewhere at some point and you will know it and feel that things are all WRONG!

So why chance it?  Read this quote above and try and truly understand that you really are the only YOU on the planet.  Nobody is like you and nobody ever will be like you.  Embrace You.  Love You.  Be You!

A few more quotes for you:

“Since you are like no other being ever created since the beginning of time, you are incomparable.” Brenda Ueland.

“There is a vitality, a life force, an energy, a quickening, that is translated through you into action, and because there is only one of you in all time, this expression is unique.  And if you block it, it will never exist and will be lost.”  Martha Graham.

I hope this little story encourages you to look inside, see who you are, and…

Be Yourself.

Have a Wonderful Wednesday!

Karrie

 

 

Leave a Reply

